They say that we are all in quest for something, looking and running towards something or running away from something (or most probably both!). Sometimes we are too engrossed in life we lose track of what is it exactly we’re looking for. I was talking to a friend the other day, telling her about some of my life disappointments, she shared this short narrative that somehow enabled me to put things in prospective. It’s a deep story with multiple meanings and numerous morals to be learnt from. I googled her story and thankfully I found it in endless websites. It goes like this…

One afternoon, Nasrudin and his friend were sitting in a cafe, drinking tea and talking about life and love. His friend asked: “How come you never married?”

“Well,” said Nasruddin, “to tell you the truth, I spent my youth looking for the perfect woman. In Cairo I met a beautiful and intelligent woman, but she was unkind. Then in Baghdad, I met a woman who was a wonderful and generous soul, but we had no common interests. One woman after another would seem just right, but there would always be something missing. Then, one day, I met her. Beautiful, intelligent, generous and kind. We had very much in common. In fact, she was perfect!”

“What happened?” asked Nasrudin’s friend, “Why didn’t you marry her?”

Nasruddin sipped his tea reflectively. “Well,” he replied, “it’s really the sad story of my life…. It seemed she was looking for the perfect man…”

Aside from the obvious morals of this story, including how we should look at ourselves first ,that we should try to understand others and give love while taking it, this story has triggered many eye-opening thoughts. Personally, I sometimes fail to truly appreciate what I have until it’s long gone. I think there are others out there who feel the same way, who lost the goods in pursuit of the what’s less, and now are burdened with regrets. While being endorsed in this thing called life, we fail to realize the big picture, the greater good, how lucky we are and how good we have it! We stay under the illusion that there are better things out there, that the grass is greener on the other side of the fence. So we always have this urge to break loose of our own yard and to leap into the other brighter grass only to be baffled finding that the grass is not actually greener, it’s just a different shade of green, but it’s only grass!

We all are the same; we’re looking for our happiness and satisfaction. In doing so, we forget to stop and think of what we already have. I don’t exactly know where am I going with this, but all I know is that I failed myself too many times scorning the good people and things I used to have but was too blind to appreciate. Now they’re no longer around and I’m no longer the same.

6 thoughts on “

  1. 2post says:

    Personally, I think that when a person is going a step further in her/his life, for instance marriage, he/she should be convinced that it wouldn’t be the same anymore and try to adjust to the situation. However, our friend in the story might had different thoughts on that, and to be realistic I don’t blame him because it’s just humans nature! People intend to look out of their fences searching for change even though they are doing fine in their lives.

    I believe what makes the difference is faith and conviction of destiny, but that does not mean I sit down and fold my arms and wait for things to happen. Start changing from within.

    Great Blog!

    • Adjusting is a key factor here. Faith and destiny should definitely be taken into consideration.You’re absolutely right! it’s just human nature to be ambitious and look up for better opportunities out there. Selling short is horrible,, it leaves you broken and incomplete!
      Thanks for your enriching comment!

Leave a Reply

