Limitations and Endless Possibilities

When my physician told me that I cannot bungee jump due to my eyes condition (high myopia), I was emotionally charged up and surprisingly reawakened!

I have dreamt of enjoying that adrenaline rush that comes with experiencing such “extreme” sports. For me, there is nothing more in the world I long to do than jumping off an object 100 feet hanging in the air, attached only by a large rubber rope!

But alas!

My better self is telling me that safety always comes first. I still don’t want my eyeballs to pop out!

I never thought that there are things in my ‘bucket list’ that I wont be able to do because of health limitations!

That conversation with my doctor opened my eyes wide to how weak human being is. No matter what extent of achievements you have accomplished in your life, there is always a limit.

Aside from the physical limitations of the human body, which by the way was a key factor in the human’s search for weapons, the limited knowledge, senses, and energy captivates me.

Let us take a look at the universe, and how scientists are constantly researching the secrets of the universe. Despite all the magnificent advancements and progress, along with all recent discoveries, modern science capacity is limited, and scientists are expected to remain unaware of all answers to our great universe. The Quran assures saying in Al-Isra verse 85: “ And of knowledge, you(mankind) have been given only a little”

For the sake of the topic’s starter, the human eye, which is reason behind almost all mankind’s explorations, yet it has its own shortcomings. Unlike the camera, the eye cannot store an image for future reference. And I’m advised not to bungee jump !!!

Aside from substantial limitations, the human intellect has limited data-base. We do not have enough memory to store everything. And even if someone happened to know everything there is to know in the world, retention of that knowledge is bounded.

Yet when you come to think about it, the superb human brain was able either to adjust to those limitations or to bypass them, by inventing alternatives.

We all have heard of deafblind Helen Keller, who despite her severe disabilities, she managed to break through her isolation and be an outstanding, influential heroine, known worldwide. I believe this woman altered our perception of the disabled and transformed mankind’s definition of the word “limitations”.

She once said: “The marvelous richness of human experience would lose something of rewarding joy if there were no limitations to overcome. The hilltop hour would not be half so wonderful if there were no dark valleys to traverse.”

To conclude, we all have bounded amount of extent that we confided within. Knowing this is a bit disappointing and constraining, but it does not, in any way, means that our full potential has been fulfilled. Sky is still the limit, but have we reached the sky? All we have is to do what we can, with what we have, where we are, asRooseveltsaid.

The story of limitations is unlimited. ~ Jehan Al-Mahmoud.

Bungee jumping for me will always resemble restrictions and … death!

2 thoughts on “Limitations and Endless Possibilities

Leave a Reply

